The Ugly Duckling’s Confession

The Ugly Duckling’s Confession

I was “totally ugly” when I was 8 or 9. I don’t care how my hair looks like; I don’t care even if I look pale. The sun won’t scare me at all. And if you ever ask me if I look messy? Guess what? I don’t really care. I was the same color as wood when I was 12. I was an athlete, believe it or not. I was once a volleyball player and I had my swimming lessons when I stepped in to high school—that’s why I have this dark complexion. Really, I wasn’t born with this color. I have this huge eyebags even until now. And there’s no one to blame but me. I love staying up all night because I honestly find comfort and relaxation in the darkness. I do have real ugly hands. Well, my mom told me that these hands are from my genes. But some told me that it is because of my joint-cracking habit. I have this tadpole-like-figure. And yes, I look like a malnourished child. I am not as sexy as the girls with the same age as mine.

I was never the epitome of Aphrodite. But that’s completely fine with me. Everything I said, that was all of my obvious flaws. But is there someone that could forbid me from dreaming such dream of becoming a model someday? This ugly duckling’s dream is to become a top model? That’s absurd! But what I’m trying to say right now is that, maybe we see things “ugly” because we are also victims of “this is beauty”.

Honestly, I think, I can make my flaws beautiful. I can make my flaws awesome. The moment that I embraced every single thing about me; whether it’s ugly or pretty, I’m sure I’ll be proud of myself. Confidence is all I need. I have no plans of dressing myself on how the society tells me that “this is the standards of beauty”. I don’t care if I’m this one sassy trash in your eyes but I will never give up on my dream.

I won't let anyone define me.
Only I can define me.

Let’s say, many girls out there are beautiful. But that doesn’t mean you aren’t.

All girls are beautiful!

 

Leave a Reply

